
07.25.11
Weekends go by way to fast. Today I had dinner at Surfside Sushi with Richard, Moses, and Victor. The wait was long and the food, cheap. Richard spotted three castmembers from the Real World La Jolla who outwardly denied that they were from the show. Too bad the internet says otherwise!
Oh, and did I mention that I didn't study today? And that I am free to play? CALL ME! :)

07.24.11
Went to church and hung out with Jiah, Moon, and Donna at Yogurtland for two hours discussing the Meyer-Briggs letters. It was a fun conversation about relationships, our personalities, our likes and dislikes. I'm an ISFJ, also known as the nurturer (just thought you'd like to know). We had VBS meeting and I'm really excited for it to come up in three weeks. VBS was always my favorite part of the summer and I'm glad that we're able to do it for the elementary schools kids at TGSC this year :)
At home I watched the movie Hotel Rwanda with my brother and dad. I don't even know how to explain how convicted I was by the film. I was frustrated with the part where the UN pulled their troops out because Rwanda wasn't seen as a valuable country. They left thousands of people to die in the genocide. Innocent people were killed and there was no intervention. It was especially sad when the reporter in the movie tells Don Cheadle's character that the most the public will do when they witness the heinous crimes is say "Oh my gosh that is horrible" and go on to eating their dinners. It makes me wonder how we can go one living like everything is going when people are dying all over the world. In moments like that I know that there is a greater purpose for people than to succeed and be comfortable in life. There is just no way we can sit and be okay with how the world is. And yet I am guilty of falling into the same pattern. Ironically, I, too went to eat dinner as soon as I wept watching the film. And here I am already disconnected from the characters and the story of horror that the film told. What do I make of this? What can I do?
I wonder if I could have done what Paul Rusesabagina did for the 1,200 Tutsi and Hutu people he saved during the rebellion. Would I have been able to stand up for these people? Willing to die for these people that I didn't even know? The thing is, Paul didn't die. He is heroic, nevertheless, he knew that death was on the line yet he didn't back down. I look at him and I am in awe of his courage and unexplainable willingness to sacrifice. And then I remember how much more heroic and unexplainable is the life of a man who did die and suffer the torment that we should have endured. Only one man lived perfectly to save men and women. Sometimes it just doesn't grab my heart the same way, but I pray everyday that it would take hold of my heart and that I wouldn't forget the ultimate story of sacrifice.

07.23.11
Started the day off early by running some errands. Kai and Donna came over and we just talked and ate and then Crystal, Matt, Adina, and Jae came over for dinner. It was fun! We played bang for a long time. It's weird that we're in different places now but it still hasn't quite hit me yet.

(Picture by Josh)
07.22.11
I drove to UCLA from SD (btw it took 1.5 hours to get from SD to Torrance and another 1.5 hours to get from Torrance to UCLA which is normally a 25 minute drive with no traffic). The traffic was bad but I was entertained by the bubbles that people were blowing from their car (I tried to capture that with my camera while I was driving but obviously you can't see any of the bubbles) and the two girls rocking out to their music in their car. Enjoyed a really really yummy meal from Kura provided by Daniel with my brother, Josh (you should try going there, it's in LA on Sunset!) It was sooo gooood! Later that night Timmy, Donna and I went to GET SHAVED to eat some Hawaiian shaved ice and talk in the car for hours. Hahaha that was fun :)

07.21.11
This is the day. I had a half day at work and I went to take my GRE in the afternoon. I was so nervous but I prayed that whatever happened I wouldn't define myself by the numbers that showed up on the screen. And that I did. I finished my GRE and I was soooo happy. Steph and I went to celebrate at George's on Fifth in Gaslamp and enjoyed a really yummy meal with great service by Chris! That chocolate cake up there, Steph ate the whole thing.
No comments:
Post a Comment